1st Day

My first day with Playgrounds Dance Company was very enjoyable, and tiring for all after the festive break. I used this workshop to share different elements of my practice, with particular emphasis on the process used to create current work Thou Shalt. I felt the performers engaged well with the exercises and learnt new ways of finding narrative and characters out of their own material.

Tomorrow I will use some of these processes to explore the theme of the work with the performers and guide them into finding their own characters and narratives out of the material generated. I am very excited to be starting this collaborative journey with the company and can’t wait to see where the material will lead us.

On a more personal note, my first day working alongside company director Matt Gough has also been extremely insightful. He has engaged me in some very interesting conversations about the way I work, and in particular what I mean when using certain words and phrases. These conversations have already got me asking myself new questions about my practice and areas that could be deepened. And I’m sure these dialogues will continue to do so.

Lorraine

This entry was posted in Playgrounds Dance Company Commission. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment